Your memories of the Queen’s 60 years By Amber Dawson BBC News Aline Dobbie, London, UK 1957 and 1959

As part of our Diamond Jubilee series of your memories of Queen Elizabeth II we are looking at your recollections of meeting or seeing the Queen in her role as head of the Commonwealth.

As well as being head of state for the United Kingdom, Queen Elizabeth II is head of state for 15 Commonwealth realms.

She also heads the Commonwealth itself, a voluntary grouping of 54 independent states with origins in Britain’s former colonial empire, with countries ranging across the globe from Asia, Australasia and Africa to the Americas.

On her 21st birthday, the Queen famously pledged her life to the service of the Commonwealth.

Here, BBC News website readers with strong ties to the Commonwealth, recall the years they met the Queen and share their memories.

I was born and grew up in India. My father was in the Indian army, as my grandfather and great-grandfather had been before him.

The Queen meant a great deal. It may have been newly independent India, but the links and traditions with the UK and the Queen were very strong.

Every week my parents received the London Illustrated News – a sort of 1940’s version of Hello! but full of news, and with plenty of news and photos of the Queen.

The first time I saw the Queen in real life was in June 1957 when I attended the Trooping of the Colour in London.

I was 10 and I just loved it. It was absolutely stunning.

Everything was so much more casual. Now security is immense, but it wasn’t like that.

I saw her again in 1959 when I was at boarding school in England and was invited by a friend’s family to the presenting of the Colours at a local naval station.

In the 1950’s and 60’s, Her Majesty the Queen & Prince Philip were the people we young people looked up to.

They have withstood the test of time and are a constant for our country and the Commonwealth.

To us in India, the Queen was the essence of Britain, someone committed to sharing the best of Britain and doing their duty and we were a generation brought up on duty.

For me today, the Queen has been an enormous constant in my life and I have great respect for her.

I go back to India constantly and she remains highly regarded for being the glue that keeps the Commonwealth together.

I think it was Kenneth Kaunda who said that if it wasn’t for the Queen, the Commonwealth wouldn’t exist.

Aline Dobbie is 65 and lives in Hartree, Peebleshire.

Read the other interviews here.

